WoB Talk

April 2, 2012

Hail? Really?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kari Maaren @ 2:23 am

I know I write about the weather too much.  However, it’s just been weird lately.  When you get 26C temperatures in March, that’s odd.  When they are followed three days later by snow, that’s freaking bizarre.  Today, it hailed…with “today” being April 1st.  Perhaps the universe has a sense of humour after all.

While we were roasting in Toronto, it was snowing on Vancouver Island, where spring habitually begins in mid-February.  On March 31st, a friend of mine living in St. John’s was forced to shovel his driveway.  The weather forecast for the next week shows temperatures varying by 17 degrees within the course of a single day.  It’s as if the season is having a genuinely hard time coming to terms with its identity.  Someone should write a coming-of-age YA novel about it.

One problem is that it’s impossible to know what to wear.  If it’s -2C when you leave in the morning, 15C when you go out for lunch, and 6C by the time you start to make your way home, are you just supposed to keep donning and/or shedding layers all day?  Do you wear boots?  Sneakers?  Walking shoes?  Sandals?  Do you need a tuque?  Gloves?  A scarf?  Is the wind blowing, making it seem ten degrees colder than it really is?  What if the wind stops blowing?  Should the windows be open at night?  During the day?  What if everything changes five minutes from now?

Are the wild fluctuations in pressure and humidity harming my musical instruments?  Do they account for the fact that I’m tired all the time?  Can I blame them for my reluctance to start marking?  Why have I not started marking?  Why do Cinnamon Pops not taste like cinnamon?  Are people going to try to kill me again after they read this week’s West of Bathurst comics?  Has the weather affected my attention span?

What is the meaning of life?  Why do dogs have wet noses?  What if you gave God a sandwich so big he couldn’t finish it?  What did I do with the driver disk for my portable scanner, and why is there no way to find the driver online?  Why are old clocks and old keys so wonderful?  What would happen if I decorated my apartment with old clocks?  Could I recreate the opening scene of Back to the Future, and would there be dog food involved?  Am I subconsciously a steampunk fan?  Why are tiny little musical instruments so appealing?  Why does everyone sneeze in a different way?

Damn you, weather:  this is what you’ve done to me.

4 Comments »

  1. First, for the weather. In the Netherlands we’ve got some sayings related to the months. The ones that I learned concern these months:

    “Maart roert zijn staart” – “March wags its tail”
    “April doet wat hij wil” – “April does what it wants”

    The idea being that the weather is hugely variable in these months – more so than usual. You guys with your inland climate are simply spoiled, expecting the current day (or hour) to be a good predictor for the next 😛

    “Why have I not started marking” is a question that’s on my mind right this moment…

    “Are people going to try to kill me again…”

    You’ve had actual attempts made on your life?! Not just threats?

    And you’ve rekindled my desire to get an old clock (I’m thinking a mantelpiece one)! I’m slightly worried about these things striking the hour throughout the night. My parents’ clock has been broken for so long that I don’t remember if there was a mechanism against this, or some way to make the sound stop. Perhaps not, and then it’s not the best of ideas to have one in a one-bedroom apartment.

    Comment by fan — April 2, 2012 @ 5:48 pm

  2. I may live in Toronto, but I was born on the west coast of British Columbia. I’m not unused to variable weather. And frankly, the weather in Toronto is usually even more variable than the weather in Vancouver. It’s just that this spring has highlighted that fact to an extreme degree.

    I have not had actual attempts on my life unless you count those from every driver on the streets of Toronto. I swear those bastards are aiming for cyclists.

    I grew up with a grandmother clock. It was easy to stop the chimes; there were separate mechanisms for the chimes and the clock itself. If you didn’t wind the chimes, they stayed silent.

    Comment by Kari Maaren (@angrykem) — April 2, 2012 @ 5:54 pm

  3. Yes, as a former coastal resident myself, I’ve gotta admit- there are other places that are used to wandering out on a clear day with not a cloud in the sky and coming home soaked to the bone. It’s just how we roll.

    Although, now that I think about it, I’m not sure that there was ever a day where there really wasn’t a cloud in the sky. That would kinda freak me out, actually.

    Also, one random thing. I’ve actually gotten to experience what I believe to be a pretty unique experience- rain flying up your pants legs. Walking across a bridge in a storm makes that possible, apparently. Has anyone else experienced this wonderful sensation?

    Comment by erwaro — April 8, 2012 @ 4:51 pm

  4. Erwaro: all cyclists have experienced this sensation.

    Comment by Kari Maaren (@angrykem) — April 8, 2012 @ 4:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

