WoB Talk

July 16, 2012

Well, This is Just Completely Ridiculous

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kari Maaren @ 12:57 am

I would like to ask the weather to go back to Hell.  Clearly, that’s where it has come from.  Is it really necessary for it to be above 30C and humid every freaking day?  I had to get up yesterday at 2:00 a.m. and take a cold shower.  I can honestly say that I’ve never done that before (cold shower, yes:  at 2:00 a.m., no).  People keep saying the temperature will go down in a few days.  Environment Canada claims it will be 34C on Tuesday.  Damn it all to Hades.

On Saturday, I was foolish enough to board the subway without a bottle of water.  When I transferred at Yonge, I found that the train I would otherwise have been on had broken down.  Apparently, the only way for the subway workers to remove this train from the tracks was to tow it all the way to Finch.  As a result, the trains behind the broken train, one of which I was on, kept on stopping for long stretches of time to let the broken train limp halfway across the city.  I was standing for half the ride and probably would have been standing for most of the rest of it if I hadn’t come so close to passing out that I had to hunker down on the floor of the train.  Some nice lady eventually offered me her seat.  I felt as guilty as if I’d been faking it, which I absolutely hadn’t.  This was exactly the second time in my life I had almost fainted on public transit; the first time, I had the flu (which had only made itself apparent earlier that day while I was in class), and I asked someone for her seat.  It was so freaking hot on Saturday that I had the same symptoms I had that one time I caught the flu.

There was a thunderstorm today.  It didn’t help.  Nothing helps.  Everything is hot and sticky and disgusting.  I’m supposed to be marking, but I start getting tired at about 1:00 p.m.  I would like to punch the weather in the face.

Yes, I do realise that 32C “isn’t that bad.”  I know that people from Louisiana are laughing at me right now.  You know what?  I don’t care.  It may be worse in other places, but it’s bad enough here.  I think I need to go stand in the shower for an hour or so.

1 Comment »

  1. See, this is why I miss the Oregon coast. Over there, “Heat wave” is anything over 70 degrees Fahrenheit. Which it took me three tries to spell correctly. When it’s hot here, they’ve got fog. And I, for one, like a nice cool fog.

    Comment by erwaro — July 16, 2012 @ 3:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

