WoB Talk

January 2, 2016

I AM Going to Write Stuff This Year

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kari Maaren @ 12:16 pm

It’s January, which means that it’s time to make oneself all sorts of promises that one is eventually and inevitably going to break. I’ve never really been into the whole “resolutions” thing, but that’s okay. The truth is that I really need to write something new, but I never have time to do that. Therefore, I’m going to attempt  Debbie Ridpath Ohi‘s 250-words-a-day challenge, which stipulates that I must make an attempt to write at least 250 words a day at least six days a week. I’m aware that 250 words is less than a page of writing. It’s not my maximum; it’s my minimum. If I choose a higher goal (Debbie also has 500-words-a-day and 1,000-words-a-day challenges), I’ll be fine at the beginning but run into serious problems when the marking arrives, especially considering that I may have up to 291 students this term. 250 words a day should be doable. I’ve already exceeded the goal on January 1 and 2. Yes, I’m starting a new novel. No, I don’t know how it’s going to turn out. It could be terrible. It could be awesome. It could stutter to a halt in the middle of chapter eight. We shall see.

250words-300w

In honour of the writing challenge and the fact that I actually have had a novel accepted and can probably stop sneaking the word “writer” into my bio at the end of a list of the other things I do, I have finally created a “writing” page on my website. There isn’t much on it yet, but oh well.

Now I need to read some science fiction and clean a small portion of my terrible apartment. Have a fun Saturday, everybody.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

